Dear Jack,

It is amazing how many white people are sick of hearing about racial inequity…we have the privilege and skin that allow us to not have to be concerned of race of those out ancestors enslaved. I choose not to identify with those who share my race and skin tone who think it is unpleasant to discuss race…who refuse to see the inequality present in our society…who choose to be offended when folks call out this inequality and racism…who choose to not recognize the racism inherent in our legal system, financial systems, and greater society.

What I choose is to recognize evil where there is evil; to respect the dignity of every one; to mourn the loss of life, and to stand up against racism and other inequalities that my race has put in place over centuries. I wish I knew how…for the task is so hard… and my patience for hearing the dribble from folks who do not even see their racism is waning.